Generic question about making roads, crossings...etc

• I have a few generic questions about building a map.

So, in most cases map builders place the sidewalks and then add polygons to make the road. Sure that's a very precise way, but what about making road splines and crossing objects, like in OMSI?

I want to start to build a real map but I have concerns about it.

If I built it with road splines and crossing objects (note: almost all of the crossings look exactly the same), it'd take maybe a few hours to build kilometres of the map. But if I had to place the sidewalks on their own, measure the distances, add polygons in all crossings and streets, it would take days and it would not look any better, since almost all of the road crossings are the same (simple 90 degree crossings with the same amount of lanes).

So, is there any benefits to not build a map like this? Like how the ligths work on polygons and/or scenery objects...etc.

As a newbie i'd say it shouldn't make any difference. For example to build a bridge you'd place bridge splines and place the bridgeheads as objects. And it shouldn't make a difference there, so why would it anywhere else?

• You can do something similar to OMSI, but in my opinion one intersection does not look exactly like the other, they are very similar, but there are small differences that make them unique (small potholes, broken curbs, destroyed road markings, etc.).

I would also say that once you have found your own workflow, it would not take so long to build a simple intersection.

Otherwise, you need to think about that the process of creating an intersection in a 3D modeling software and importing it with the Content Tool will also takes some time.

All in all, it must be your own decision, I personally would avoid it at least within a city, but I do not blame anyone if they want to use intersection objects.